Local Scholarships

The Ethel Gayman Endowment

The Ethel Gayman Endowment was established in 1991 when Ethel Gayman, a long-time member of the San Mateo Branch of AAUW, left a bequest to the branch.  This bequest was designated to provide funding for yearly scholarships to students from the three San Mateo County Community Colleges who continue their education at a four-year college or university.  Eligible applicants must have a minimum 3.5 grade point average, demonstrate financial need and be enrolled at their chosen school during the subsequent fall term. Beginning in 2014 six scholarships have been awarded each of which is $3,000.

The Kathleen A. Smith Memorial Scholarship

In 2011 Kay Smith, another long-time member of the branch, bequeathed the amount of $50,000 to the branch. The board of directors voted to establish the Kathleen A. Smith Memorial Scholarship. The criteria for the scholarship are the same as those of the Ethel Gayman Endowment, and each year for ten years one $5,000 scholarship will be awarded.

Both the Endowment and the Memorial Scholarship are administered by the San Mateo County Community Colleges Foundation (SMCCCF).